Emergency Management Council Minutes

June 6, 2024

Attendees

Please see pages 3 and 4.

Call to Order

The Emergency Management Council meeting was held in person on June 6, 2024, at Kittitas Valley Fire and Rescue, Ellensburg, WA. It began at 9:00 a.m. and was presided over by Chandra Fox, EMC Chair. Melissa Morris, Emergency Management Division, recorded the minutes.

Opening Comments

Opening comments were presented by Robert Ezelle, Director, EMD, and Morgan Wilson, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor.

Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve the April 11, 2024, meeting minutes was made by Frederick Brink and seconded by Chief Michael Harris. The motion carried.

Regional Issues Impacting Washington

Vince Maykovich, Deputy Regional Administrator, FEMA Region 10, provided an overview of regional issues impacting Washington.

Open Public Forum

There were no comments.

Work Session – Discuss and Vote on Acceptance of 2023 EMC Annual Report

Chandra Fox, EMC Chair, led a review of the 2023 Emergency Management Council Annual Report.

A motion to approve the report as presented was made by Arel Solie and seconded by Quyen Thai. The motion carried.

Work Session - Open Public Meetings Act Training

Meeting attendees completed Open Public Meetings Act Training in accordance with chapter 42.30 RCW. Training was conducted by reviewing an online video provided by the Washington State Office of the Attorney General.

See attached attendee roster for a list of persons who completed this training.

Work Session – The Changing Operating Environment of Emergency Management

Robert Ezelle, EMD Director, presented a PowerPoint presentation and facilitated discussions with councilmembers and meeting attendees about changes in the operating environment, current challenges, and the evolution of emergency management over the next 10 to 15 years.

Work Session – Workshop on Potential WAC Updates

Alexa Bach, Planning Supervisor, EMD, and Katie Spiekermann, All Hazards Program Manager, EMD, provided an overview of the current contents of chapter WAC 118-30, including sections on authority, purpose, definitions, responsibilities of political subdivisions, emergency management ordinance/resolution, emergency plan, program papers, review periods, and additional points to consider.

Alexa and Katie facilitated discussions on each section. The work session concluded with an overview of the next steps and the rulemaking process.

Main Motions

A motion to nominate and appoint Chief Paul Patterson as the new chair of the State Emergency Response was made. Motion to approve was made by Chief Michael Harris and seconded by Nathan Weed. The motion carried.

EMC Adjournment

Chandra Fox adjourned the meeting at 12:03 p.m.

EMC Member Attendance

Position	Name	Jun-6
Pos 1 Pri	Fredrick Brink	Present
Pos 1 Alt	Chuck Torelli	
Pos 2 Pri	Gene Strong	
Pos 2 Alt	Mark Ozias	Present
Pos 3 Pri	Chief Scott Engle	
Pos 3 Alt	Chief Peter Fisher	
Pos 4 Pri	Chief John Batiste	
Pos 4 Alt	Arel Solie	Present
Pos 5 Pri	Robert Ezelle	Present
Pos 5 Alt	Sharon Wallace	Present
Pos 6 Pri	Jim Pendowski	Present
Pos 6 Alt	Jacob Rain	Present
Pos 7 Pri	Chief Chad Cross	
Pos 7 Alt	Melissa Gannie	Present
Pos 8 Pri	Chief Michael Harris	Present
Pos 8 Alt	Vacant	
Pos 9 Pri	Hilary S. Franz	
Pos 9 Alt	Casey Hanell	
Pos 10 Pri	Chandra Fox	Present
Pos 10 Alt	Alysha Kaplan	
Pos 11 Pri	JoAnn Boggs	
Pos 11 Alt	John Unfred	Present
Pos 12 Pri	Vacant	
Pos 12 Alt	John O'Rourke	
Pos 13 Pri	Nathan Weed	Present
Pos 13 Alt	Ron Weaver	
Pos 14 Pri	Quyen Thai	Present
Pos 14 Alt	Ryan Mumma	
Pos 15 Pri	Greg Welch	
Pos 15 Alt	Dru Garson	Present
Pos 16 Pri	John Himmel	
Pos 16 Alt	Vacant	
Pos 17 Pri	Kirk Holmes	Present
Pos 17 Alt	Jennifer Bailey	
Pos 18 Pri	Anna Marie Dufault	
Pos 18 Alt	Amber Wynn	
Pos 19 Pri	Nick Henderson	

Pos 19 Alt	Dr. Nicole Yarid	
Pos 20 Pri	Vacant	
Pos 20 Alt	Elizabeth Sanchey	
Pos 21 Pri	Cherrie May	
Pos 21 Alt	Jeff Choke	

EMC Guest Attendance

Vince Maykovich Morgan Wilson Hannah Cleverly Sandi Duffey Amy Gillespie Leonard Johnson Zak Myers

EMD Staff

Alexa Bach
Anne-marie Marshall-Dody
Melissa Morris
Katie Spiekermann
Sharon Wallace
Sierra Wardell